cold calls for cookies: gluten free peanut butter oatmeal cookies, to be exact

 

 

It may have been a long time since I’ve posted a recipe, but that doesn’t mean I’m not still getting creative in the kitchen. This week, I’ve braved making soup from scratch with leftover chicken bones (something that’s been on my to tackle list ever since I realized how many chickens it takes to deliver one of those oh so convenient club packs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts at the grocery store) and today, with the freeze your face off temperatures outside, I decided that turning on my oven and baking something was a great idea.

I bought a package of quinoa flour at the grocery store a few weeks ago and when I started looking for recipes to use it up, I came across one on the Bob’s Red Mill website for peanut butter cookies. I chose quinoa flour as an alternative to almond flour, which I find pricey. I’m not anti-quinoa and the bag sure made it seem like a good choice:

“Organic Quinoa Flour (pronounced keen-wa) is the most nutritious grain available. It is also one of the oldest cultivated grains in the world. Quinoa is high in protein, calcium and iron. Use this delicate flour when baking. You can substitute this flour for half of the all-purpose flour in many recipes or completely replace wheat flour in cakes and cookie recipes.”

I used the recipe, loosely, to get me started on my own version of a cookie with peanut butter and oatmeal and raisins. They’re gluten free, easy to make, and delicious. Some of mine fell apart but that’s a gift: the baker is obligated to eat the ugly ones!

20140107-171930.jpgGluten Free Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:
½ c. peanut butter (mine happened to be light)
½ c. quinoa flour
½ c. sugar
1 tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1 egg
1/3 c. rolled oats (gluten free)
¼ c. raisins
¼ c. sunflower seeds

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheet; set aside.

In a large bowl, mix peanut butter, flour, sugar, salt, vanilla, and egg ‘til combined. Add remaining ingredients, stirring ‘til blended evenly.

Roll dough into balls (the cookies won’t expand much while baking) and place on cookie sheet. Press down a bit using a spoon.

Bake for 8-12 minutes (depending on size) or ‘til golden on the edges. Remove from oven and cool on rack or wax paper.

Enjoy!

20140107-171945.jpg

20140107-172002.jpg

20140107-172019.jpg

20140107-172038.jpg

 

What is your favourite thing to bake?
Have you baked with quinoa flour before?
Do you experiment with recipes or stick with what’s suggested?

Leave a Reply

