the most zen: top songs for getting stretchy to

A few years ago when I attended one of the CanFit Pro conferences in Toronto, I did some YogaFit Level training that gave me the the credentials to teach “Yoga Stretch” classes. I don’t have my Yoga teacher training (but getting it is on my bucket list) but I do teach at the rec centre. Lately, I’ve been teaching lots of classes to the swim team (along with spin classes). It’s a really fun opportunity and I had forgotten how much I enjoy teaching yoga.

In the spirit of that, I thought I’d share some of my favourite music to use in these classes. I’m only as good as the instructors who inspired me and usually the songs I choose have been borrowed from some of the amazing instructors I’ve encountered in my own practice. Here are my top 10 choices for songs for a perfect yoga class (or study sesh, to be honest!)…

1. Skinny Love – Birdy

2. Promise – Ben Howard

3. Orange Sky – Alexi Murdoch

4. Bloom – The Paper Kites

5. Perth – Bon Iver

6. Lullaby – Trevor Hall

7. Thank You – Alanis Morissette

8. Holocene – Bon Iver

9. Baba Hanuman – Krishna Das

10. Lime Tree – Trevor Hall

Leave a Reply

