omnomnom: gluten free pumpkin chocolate muffins

Last year, I dabbled in grain-free baking and found a couple of really tasty and pretty easy recipes. One thing I noticed, though, was that it could get pretty expensive: most recipes called for a mixture of eggs, coconut in various forms (butter, oil, flour, flakes, etc.), almond flour, and butter (plus chocolate if you know where it’s at!).

While I’d like to pretend that it makes no difference whether or not a muffin or a cookie I eat is made with regular flour or not, I’ll admit that if I take the time to bake something that’s gluten free I feel better about eating it and while I don’t always notice if I have something with gluten in it, the times I do notice remind me that it’s better safe than sorry when it comes to things I make for myself or eat on a regular basis (birthday cakes and cupcakes aside). But since I’m not obsessing over whether or not I eat (certain) grains or not these days, I’ve branched out in my baking and this week, I got creative and, inspired by a recipe for sweet potato muffins on food.com, I whipped up some pumpkin muffins made with brown rice and quinoa flours–much cheaper than using almond flour. I dropped the sugar from the original recipe significantly but I think if I made them again, I would go even lower and see if they’re still tasty (because they definitely were sweet enough and I see myself making these on the regular for afternoon snacks and something to keep in the freezer).

Verdict: they’re delicious!

Gluten Free Pumpkin Chocolate Muffins
Makes ~16 muffins

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 7.37.48 PM

Ingredients:
1/2 cup coconut oil
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/4 cup pumpkin
3/4 cup quinoa flour
3/4 cup brown rice flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup raisins
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
1/4 cup dark chocolate pieces

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
In a large bowl, cream coconut oil and sugar. Add eggs and stir ’til evenly combined. Mix in pumpkin. Add flours and baking soda, mixing until smooth. Add remaining ingredients, mixing until evenly distributed. Spoon into lined muffin tins*. Bake for ~20 minutes or ’til a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool and enjoy!

*Next time, I am going to try doing these right in a (greased) tin because they stuck a bit to the liners.

 

 

Leave a Reply

