a challenge: what i’m capable of

I am a big fan of Molly Galbraith. Last fall, I got to meet her when I went to ladies retreat she put on in Ohio. She talked about her personal experience, how she works with women as a trainer, and about some pretty insightful body image stuff. One of my favourite posts of hers is “It’s hard out here–for a fit chick”  where she explained her own story and her journey, doubts, and eventual confidence as a fitness professional:

“So that’s what I want you to realize.  None of us have it all figured out.  Some of us are farther along in our self-acceptance journey than others, but we are all in it together.  In the meantime, let’s can the trash talk about our own bodies AND each other’s bodies.”

Needless to say, I have a girl crush on this lady. If you know me, you know I’m also big on all things acceptance and body love. Coming off of an awesome Love Your Body Week at Western, I was really excited to see Molly launching her own body love challenge to her followers.

1426583_10201974993690486_802101072_n

 

I’m a day late, but I decided that I wanted to be a part of this challenge. Rather than do a day or two here or there without really being accountable to anyone, I thought what better spot than on my (currently neglected) blog to keep that conversation about loving your body going. I was drawn into Molly’s invitation, where she shared pictures from big name awesome ladies in the world of (interweb) fitness talking about their own journeys to body love and showing their flattering and not so flattering selves to demonstrate that body acceptance and “body embracement,” as Molly calls the next level of loving your body, can happen regardless of how “good” you look or where you’re at. Amen to that!

So, in the spirit of the second day of the challenge, I thought I’d reflect on Molly’s 2nd Reason to love your body–because it’s capable:

“We are such a complex and divine piece of machinery, that we should constantly be in awe of ourselves, and I would be willing to be that there is something, at least one thing, that you do better than almost anyone else.”

I like that Molly talks about the physical and the non-physical capabilities of our bodies here (hers is to make people laugh). When I really thought about what I could appreciate my body for, of course I thought of all the physical things I’ve been able to impress myself with (from training up to and biking 100 miles to building the strength necessary to do sets of pullups) but also gave some thought to what I really do well but don’t acknowledge myself for.

This is mile 92 of my first century. I finished--with a smile!

This is mile 92 of my first century. I finished–with a smile!

 

On that note, I decided to celebrate the fact that I’m a writer. If you didn’t know, I keep a little portfolio website for my more professional writing beyond this blog. I’ve realized, especially lately, that not everyone LIKES writing. Whether it’s someone who can’t believe that I overshot a paper by 2000 words (fact) or the friend who wants to know how I got my foot in the door at Canadian Cycling Magazine, I am reminded every once in a while of the fact that I am a good writer. So, as Molly suggested, here’s my mantra:

I am capable of turning ideas into writing, and that’s awesome.  In fact, I am capable of anything I set my mind to, that I am willing to work for. “    x10!

writing = love

What are you capable of?
Will you join in on this challenge?
Who is your biggest girl crush in the fitness industry?

 

Leave a Reply

