Blogging Fun

A big part of why I love blogging is because it makes me feel connected to people all over the place. Some of those bloggers just so happen to live in the same city as me and a pair of them recently gave me a little shout out via the Versatile Blogger award. Thanks Tracy/Sam at Fit, Feminist, and (Almost) Fifty  for the nomination for the award, which I’ll accept.

versatile blogger

It works like this:

  • Display the award on your blog: check!
  • Announce your win with a post and thank the blogger who nominated you: check!
  • Present 15 deserving bloggers with the award…scroll down!
  • Link your nominees in the post and let them know of their nomination with a comment…I’m on it!
  • Post seven things about yourself…get excited!

Fifteen seems like a lot BUT I can think of a handful of blogs (some friends, some role models, some strangers, but all ones that I check up on and love seeing new posts from) to pass the award along to (or who are “too big” to care about this little blog award but you might enjoy the link to nonetheless ;)!):

Bee Goes Bananas
Chelsea’s Healthy Kitchen
Rachel Skubel 
This is BLAM I Am
couragewhisperstry
halfbakedunrealist
Peace, Love and Oats 

And, since I do love talking about myself, here come the 7 points about myself (random!):

1. I have a hobby that involves bulk barn and baking:

cake 1 cake 2 cake 5 cake 6 cake 3

2. How I became a freelance writer: I couldn’t find a job one summer so I decided to take a summer course. “Introduction to Writing” sounded good, which was a pre-req for “Writing for Publication,” the course (taught by the instructor) that led to my volunteering at the Gazette and to lots of the stories I’ve had published. I’ve always liked writing and I did consider journalism as a career earlier on, but the process by which I became a writer on the side was more random than calculated/planned.

typewriter

3. I am writing my Master’s thesis on CrossFit and representations of women’s bodies and so far, I’ve fallen in love with the sport and then decided it’s silly–over and over again. I’m learning to separate myself from my research, reading, and writing just enough to be successful–and sane!

4. I’m American — born in Pennsylvania, spent some time growing up in Ohio, and moved to Canada when I was in the fifth grade. I consider myself Canadian, but the official documents say otherwise.

5. I don’t have a TV–and I’m okay with it. I think I’d blog less if I had one, and that would be a sad thing.

6. I recently realized I love dodgeball. And all camp games. I want to start a games day at the gym at Western where stressed out students can come and play dodgeball and freeze tag to help them destress.

7. I eat carrots and almond butter at least once a week. It started as a celery and peanut butter in the company of carrots situation but eventually I’ve gotten to the point where the carrot goes directly in the jar of peanut butter. Also delicious with almond butter.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this and want to play along! Yay for blogging!

 

One thought on “Blogging Fun

Leave a Reply

