Body Positive Tuesdays: Love Your Body Campaign and an activity to help you love more about yourself

I am a firm believer that self-acceptance and loving ourselves is a practice, not a one time thing. Recovering from my eating disorder taught me that every day, I am the one responsible for taking care of myself and every day is an opportunity to take really good care of myself. Lately, body positivity has been even more on my mind than ever, though, with the upcoming Love Your Body day at Western, where I am a (forever, career, etc.) student. This will be the fifth year of the campaign, which is about promoting body love and a healthy relationship with exercise and nutrition.

As you might know, my eating disorder was awful but I appreciate it for forcing me to re-learn how to take care of myself in a new and healthy way. I sometimes share some of my strategies for what keeps me in a healthy and happy place on the blog (happyisthenewhealthy.com).

This year, I’d like to piggyback on that Love Your Body celebration, which is on April 8, with a way to keep body positivity in our minds for a little longer. The cool thing about the internet is that we can reach all kinds of people, regardless of where they live or whether or not they can join in on a day of festivities at one university.

My plan is to share some of the best ideas I’ve come across when it comes to building a healthy relationship with my body each week on Tuesdays, an otherwise kind of lame day. I encourage you to give the ideas that resonate with you a go, but not to put any pressure on yourself in the process. Say you try four of my suggestions. That’s four more than had you decided that your relationship with your body isn’t worth the time. Trust me, it is. Please share the ideas that really resonate with you and talk about this in your own community and on your own social media. Here’s to moving a step closer towards a body positive world out there, one day at a time!

Week 1: Write 10 things you love about yourself and/or your body.
For the first week, we’ll start with a task that (at least seems like it) will be easy.
However, so many of us are experts when it comes to beating ourselves up. We know exactly what our flaws are and what we’d like to change, but faced with the question of What is awesome about you?, it can sometimes take a little convincing that we aren’t being “too proud” if we celebrate ourselves a little.

When you make your list, try to think of some physical and some non-physical attributes that you appreciate about yourself. Do you love the way that you get a pair of cute dimples when you smile? Do you love the way that your laugh is contagious? There are no rules about this list, but a good idea might be to keep it handy for days when you just can’t seem to be your own cheerleader.

What is on your list?
How did you feel when you were going through this exercise?

PS If you are in London, please get involved with our Love Your Body day! Like the facebook page, come by the rec centre for the events on the 8th, and tell your friends. Stay tuned for a finalized schedule, but please mark the day on your schedule!

Leave a Reply

