Body Positivity Tuesday: Be Picky

It’s time for another tip from the body acceptance arsenal. This week is about putting on blinders when it comes to things that don’t serve you on your health and happiness journey…

Week 3: Limit your digital exposure to things that make you feel bad about your body.

As a blogger, I’m obviously biased towards social media’s potential to be a positive force in our lives. But I’m fully aware how the literally unlimited exposure available to us via the internet and social media to the kinds of content and pictures that can make us feel inadequate can wreak havoc on our abilities to feel good about ourselves. The internet is also a place where people can present things that aren’t even real—as real as they appear. A big step back during my eating disorder recovery was letting go of the blogs I was following who took part in the “What I Ate Wednesday” madness. I realized that part of giving up the obsession with whether or not what I ate was good or normal or too much or too little or whatever was to stop comparing myself to others, especially those who took the effort to document their every bite on the internet.

The remedy? Examine what you expose yourself to on social media. If you’re constantly bombarded with photos to which you compare yourself, or with people promoting all kinds of extreme diets, or with anything that leaves you feeling worse off, get rid of it. We have to be the gatekeepers of what we allow into our lives, and given the way in which we are constantly connected these days, social media is a big part of this puzzle.

respect

Is there anything you’re letting go of after reading this post? 

2 thoughts on “Body Positivity Tuesday: Be Picky

  1. Smart. I do the same. Anyone posting gym selfies, isagenix stories or booze immediately gets hidden.

    I’ve stopped reading fitness magazines.

    I even have stopped going to a few yoga classes where the teacher talks about bikini bodies or doing more to prove we are better people.

    None of those things help me.

    • It’s great to hear that you’re already doing this! I’ve had to quit jobs and change my environment over this, say no to one on one dates with certain friends, and toss out some old books. It can be hard, but I know it’s made a difference for me. I still find myself having to check in on occasion and do some spring cleaning of sorts. 🙂 Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

